Washington State DUI Penalties
Penalties for DUIs in Washington state vary according the number of prior offenses, whether or not the driver took a breath test, and the blood alcohol level (BAC) results. DUI penalties are harsher when the offense is considered aggravated.
In addition to jail time, those convicted of a DUI face additional penalties including:
- driver’s license suspension; and
- an order to use an ignition interlock device.
First Time DUI Convictions
If you have no prior DUI convictions, penalties are as follows:
- BAC Result < .15 – if your BAC result was under .15, the judge can order up to 364 days in jail or an alternative electric home monitoring sentence (EHM). Each day of a jail sentence will be converted to 15 days of EHM sentencing. In other words, if you were sentenced to 30 days in jail, you can ask for 450 days of EHM instead. You will also face up to $5,000 in fines and a 90-day driver’s license suspension.
- BAC Result ≥ .15 – if your BAC result was .15 or over, or you refused to take the breath test, you can get up to 365 days in jail, and the EHM conversion raises to 30 EHM days for every one day of jail sentencing. You will also face up to $5,000 in fines, and your licence will be revoked for one year if your BAC was .15 or higher, or for two years if you refused the breath test.