Senate Approves Lowering Threshold for Felony DUI

According to the Seattle PI, Senate has unanimously passed a measure that would make it a felony charge to drive under the influence when the driver has three prior offenses within 10 years.

The bill passed the chamber early Friday morning and is now headed to the House for consideration.  Under current Washington law, a DUI is a felony if there are four or more prior offenses within 10 years.  Washington state has the highest threshold among the 45 states that have laws to make repeat DUI offenders felons.

The bill is a recommendation from a work group created by a measure signed into law by Gov. Jay Inslee in 2013 which toughened impaired driving laws in Washington after a high number of fatal DUI-related crashes.

If you or someone you know have been stopped, questioned, or arrested for driving under the influence, the first call you should make is to a qualified DUI defense attorneyWe are available 24/7 on our on-call attorney line at (253) 217-4849